Dialoge ist ein diskursives Veranstaltungsprogramm des neu gegründeten Zentrums für GegenwartsKunst der Universität Graz, welches von 16.-21. Mai im Grazer Kunstverein stattfindet. Unter dem Titel Kunst – Politische Verantwortung – Soziale Gerechtigkeit setzt das Programm aktuelle sozio-politische Schwerpunkte. Im Mittelpunkt stehen die Konfliktzonen Europas, Vielfältigkeit im Zusammenhang mit der Hinterfragung und Neudefinierung von Identitätskonzepten, sowie Fragen rund um Kolonialismus und Imperialismus.

Akte der politischen Selbstbestimmung stellen oft verwoben in künstlerischen Praktiken Formen des Widerstandes dar. Der vierte Dialog beinhaltet Beiträge von Mark Nash (Vortrag), Yagazie Emezi (Artist Talk), Ryan Cosbert (Artist Talk), Belinda Kazeem-Kamiński (Artist Talk) und Florian Bieber (Vortrag).

Das aktuelle Programm finden Sie auf der Website des Zentrums für GegenwartsKunst der Universität Graz.

Dialoge ist ein diskursives Veranstaltungsprogramm des neu gegründeten Zentrums für GegenwartsKunst der Universität Graz, welches von 16.-21. Mai im Grazer Kunstverein stattfindet. Unter dem Titel Kunst – Politische Verantwortung – Soziale Gerechtigkeit setzt das Programm aktuelle sozio-politische Schwerpunkte. Im Mittelpunkt stehen die Konfliktzonen Europas, Vielfältigkeit im Zusammenhang mit der Hinterfragung und Neudefinierung von Identitätskonzepten, sowie Fragen rund um Kolonialismus und Imperialismus.

Theoretische sowie künstlerische Reaktionen gegen Stereotypisierung und Zuschreibungen in Verbindung mit dem Geschlecht bilden den Kern des dritten Dialogs mit Beiträgen von David Getsy (Vortrag), Alexandra Hammond (Performance), Furusho von Puttkammer (Performance), Masha Godovannaya (Vortrag) und Bárbara Wagner und Benjamin de Burca (Screening).

Das aktuelle Programm finden Sie auf der Website des Zentrums für GegenwartsKunst der Universität Graz.

Dialoge ist ein diskursives Veranstaltungsprogramm des neu gegründeten Zentrums für GegenwartsKunst der Universität Graz, welches von 16.-21. Mai im Grazer Kunstverein stattfindet. Unter dem Titel Kunst – Politische Verantwortung – Soziale Gerechtigkeit setzt das Programm aktuelle sozio-politische Schwerpunkte. Im Mittelpunkt stehen die Konfliktzonen Europas, Vielfältigkeit im Zusammenhang mit der Hinterfragung und Neudefinierung von Identitätskonzepten, sowie Fragen rund um Kolonialismus und Imperialismus.

Im zweiten Dialog mit dem Titel Trust & Intransigence wird eine besondere Akzentuierung auf europäische Konfliktzonen gesetzt. Er soll eine Plattform für einen produktiven Austausch zwischen Wissenschaftler*innen und Künstler*innen bieten. Mit Positionen von Saddam Jumaily (Artist Talk), Marita Muukkonen, Ivor Stodolsky (Dialog), Jasmina Cibic (Artist Talk), Alexandra Hammond (Performance), Ekaterina Degot (Statement), Vedran Dzihic (Vortrag) und Anri Sala (Screening).

Das aktuelle Programm finden Sie auf der Website des Zentrums für GegenwartsKunst der Universität Graz.

Dialoge ist ein diskursives Veranstaltungsprogramm des neu gegründeten Zentrums für GegenwartsKunst der Universität Graz, welches von 16.-21. Mai im Grazer Kunstverein stattfindet. Unter dem Titel Kunst – Politische Verantwortung – Soziale Gerechtigkeit setzt das Programm aktuelle sozio-politische Schwerpunkte. Im Mittelpunkt stehen die Konfliktzonen Europas, Vielfältigkeit im Zusammenhang mit der Hinterfragung und Neudefinierung von Identitätskonzepten, sowie Fragen rund um Kolonialismus und Imperialismus.

Der erste Dialog behandelt das Thema Mythos Heimat und Postmigration mit Positionen von Wolfgang Meixner (Buchpräsentation), Marc Hill (Buchbesprechung), Steffen Schneider (Statement), Renate Hansen-Kokoruš (Vortrag) und Djordje Čenić (Artist Talk und Screening).

Das aktuelle Programm finden Sie auf der Website des Zentrums für GegenwartsKunst der Universität Graz.

She gave it to me I got it from her ist sowohl Buch als auch Choreografie, aufgeführt für jeweils fünf Zuschauer*innen. Clara Amaral führt ihr Publikum mit ihrer Stimme und einer komplexen Komposition von Gesten durch die verschiedenen Kapitel des Buches. Die von der Künstlerin selbst entwickelte und geschriebene Publikation konzentriert sich auf die matrilineare Weitergabe von Lese- und Schreibkenntnissen—von der Mutter an die Tochter, von Generation zu Generation. Die Erzählung, die sich entfaltet, zeichnet Amarals Familiengeschichte nach und offenbart einen historischen Übergang vom Analphabetismus hin zur Fähigkeit zu lesen und zu schreiben. Indem sie diesen Wandel auf poetische Weise darstellt, gibt Amaral einen Einblick in die Machtverhältnisse, die durch das Vorhandensein oder Fehlen der Fähigkeit zu lesen und zu schreiben entstehen, und wie dies bei der Bildung von Identität, sei sie persönlich oder kollektiv, eine Rolle spielt. Durch die performative Lesung wird das Buch als Skript, Performance und Archiv neu artikuliert.

Sprache: Englisch
Dauer: 60 Minuten
Kosten: 5 Euro (kostenlos für Mitglieder)

Aufgrund der stark begrenzten Platzzahl bitten wir Sie um Vorreservierung unter office@grazerkunstverein.org

Clara Amaral (geb. 1984, Portugal; lebt in Amsterdam) ist eine Künstlerin, die mit Text und Performance arbeitet. Ihre interdisziplinäre künstlerische Praxis hinterfragt, was es bedeutet, Leserin und Schriftstellerin zu sein, und zielt darauf ab, bestehende Formen des Lesens, Schreibens und Veröffentlichens zu erweitern. Im Mittelpunkt ihrer Praxis steht die Untersuchung von Publikationsmodalitäten und des performativen Aspekts von Schrift und Sprache durch einen intersektionalen feministischen Ansatz. Ihre Arbeiten wurden in den Niederlanden, Portugal, Belgien, Spanien, Schweden und der Schweiz gezeigt. Amaral ist die Initiatorin der Online-Publikationsplattform misted.cc.

Autorin, Choreografin und Performerin Clara Amaral; Grafik Ronja Andersen und Karoline Swiezynski;Textredaktion Isabelle Sully; Konzeptualisierung und Herstellung der Objekte Olga Micińska im Dialog mit Clara Amaral, Herausgeber Kunstverein Publishing

She gave it to me I got it from her wurde unterstützt von Mondriaan Fonds, Amsterdam; Veem House for Performance, Amsterdam; Mitglieder des Kunstvereins, Amsterdam; Alkantara, Lissabon; Teatro do Bairro Alto, Lissabon

Die Präsentation von She gave it to me I got it from her im Grazer Kunstverein wird ermöglicht durch die Unterstützung des Mondriaan Fonds, Amsterdam.

Clara Amaral, She gave it to me I got it from her, 2021. Photo: The Book Photographer.

Margarita Maximova präsentiert eine Lesung aus ihrem ersten Buch You have within you something stronger and more numinous (2021). In ihrer künstlerischen Praxis befasst sich Maximova mit den vielfältigen Möglichkeiten, die unsere zeitgenössischen Technologien zur Bilderzeugung und ihre untrennbare Verbindung zu Kommunikation, Sozialverhalten und Gedächtnisbildung bieten. You have within you something stronger and more numinous ist eine Fortsetzung dieses Prozesses mit dem Schwerpunkt auf dem geschriebenen Wort. Das Buch enthält eine Sammlung von Auszügen aus Briefen, die ihr ihre Mutter im vergangenen Jahrzehnt geschickt hat. Die Auswahl der übersetzten Texte beschreibt die abenteuerliche Übersiedlung ihrer Mutter von Russland nach Belgien, ihre Kindheit in den russischen Datschen, genaue Beobachtungen der Landschaft und ihr Versuch, die Verbindung zu ihren Vorfahren wiederzufinden. Inmitten der politischen Landschaft und des kulturellen Gefüges der Sowjetunion offenbart die Erzählung ihrer Erfahrungen die Nuancen von Intimität, Vertreibung, Mutterschaft und den psychischen Traumata, die so oft von früheren Familiengenerationen vererbt werden.

Sprache: Englisch
Dauer: 75 Minuten

Aufgrund der begrenzten Platzzahl bitten wir Sie um Vorreservierung unter office@grazerkunstverein.org

Margarita Maximova (geb. 1990, Russland; lebt in Brüssel und Berlin) ist Künstlerin und verfolgt eine audiovisuelle Praxis. Ihre Arbeiten wurden kürzlich bei Damien & The Love Guru, Brüssel (2021), Garage Museum of Contemporary Art, Moskau (2021), Science Gallery, Venedig (2021), Courtisane Festival, Gent (2021), S.M.A.K, Gent (2020), und Beursschouwburg, Brüssel (2018) ausgestellt.

Die Präsentation von You have within you something stronger and more numinous im Grazer Kunstverein wird durch die Unterstützung von Flanders State of the Art ermöglicht.

Margarita Maximova, You Have Within You Something Stronger and More Numinous, 2021.

In Submission Submission (unplugged) schlüpft Bryana Fritz in die Rolle einer ‚Amateur-Hagiografin‘. Die Amateurin ist sowohl Anfängerin als auch Liebhaberin; die Hagiografin befasst sich mit der Aufzeichnung von Heiligenleben, der Hagiografie. In einer Reihe von performativen Porträts verkörpert Fritz die körperlichen, rhetorischen und performativen Strategien, mit denen mittelalterliche weibliche Heilige ihr eingeschränktes Leben, Sterben und ihre Leidenschaften unterwanderten. Indem sie ihren physischen und digitalen Körper heiligen Echos aus der Vergangenheit unterwirft, seziert sie die Werkzeuge, die Körper hervorbringen, und macht sie sich zunutze. Submission Submission ist ein wachsender Kodex von performativen Porträts mittelalterlicher Heiliger. Für jede Iteration der Performance werden andere Heilige ausgewählt um sich den Raum mit ihnen zu teilen. Im Grazer Kunstverein wird Fritz ihre Porträts von Christina von Bolsena, Hildegard von Bingen, Katharina von Siena und Johanna von Orléans aufführen.

Sprache: Englisch
Dauer: 30 Minuten

Bryana Fritz (geb. 1989, USA; lebt in Brüssel und Paris) ist Choreografin, Tänzerin und Autorin. Sie arbeitet an der Schnittstelle zwischen Poesie und Performance, oft im Duett mit der Benutzeroberfläche von OS X. Ihre Arbeit wird von einem anhaltenden Interesse an mittelalterlicher Literatur, Fanfiction, Medienwissenschaft und der Geschichte des Analphabetismus getragen. Sie arbeitet auch mit Henry Andersen unter dem Namen Slow Reading Club zusammen. Als Performerin arbeitete Fritz mit Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker, Xavier le Roy, Boris Charmatz, Michiel Vandevelde und Femke Gyselinck zusammen.

Die Präsentation von Submission Submission (unplugged) im Grazer Kunstverein wird durch die Unterstützung von Flanders State of the Art ermöglicht.


Bryana Fritz, Submission Submission, 2020. Photo: Michiel Devijver.

Diese Publikation erscheint anlässlich der Ausstellung we sat rigid except for the parts
of our bodies that were needed for production
von Sandra Lahire und Celeste Burlina. Es ist die erste einer Reihe von kleinen Ausgaben mit Korrespondenzen, Beiträgen und Gesprächen, die das Ausstellungsprogramm des Grazer Kunstvereins begleiten.

Herausgeber: Tom Engels
Mit Beiträgen von: Celeste Burlina, Tom Engels, Laura Guy, Calla Henkel, Sandra Lahire, Julie Peeters, Charlotte Procter, Kerstin Schroedinger, Miriam Stoney
Grafik: Julie Peeters
Redaktionelle Unterstützung: Verena Borecky
Lektorat: Tom Engels, Verena Borecky
Druck und Bindung: Benedict Press, Münsterschwarzach
Edition: 350
Schriftart: Kleisch GK by Chiachi Chao
63 Seiten, S&W, Englisch
Softcover
ISBN: 978-3-9505230-0-3
Preis: 7,– Euro, 4,– Euro für Mitglieder

Diese Auswahl an Filmen soll einen Überblick über die Arbeit von Sandra Lahires Zeitgenossinnen und Kolleginnen geben, darunter Freundinnen, Mentorinnen und Mitglieder der London Film-makers Cooperative wie Tina Keane, Lis Rhodes und Tanya Syed. Diese eklektische Mischung aus Film und Video enthält Reflexionen über einige der Anliegen, die Lahires Arbeit durchdringen und die zu dieser Zeit vorherrschend waren, einschließlich Anti-Atomkraft-Aktivismus, Einschränkungen, die dem weiblichen Körper auferlegt werden, und Manifestationen lesbischer Sexualität und lesbischen Begehrens. Die Filme werden durch Lesungen von Texten und Reflexionen von Lahire und einigen der anderen Künstlerinnen dieses Programms ergänzt.

Das Filmprogramm umfasst:
Tina Keane, Hey Mack, 1982. 13 min. 
Jo Davis & Lis Rhodes, Hang on a minute: No 8 Bus, 1983. 2 min.
Jeanette Iljon, Focii, 1974.  9 min.
Tanya Syed, Chameleon, 1990. 4 min.
Martine Thoquenne, Faster Princess, 1982. 8 min.
Sarah Turner, She Wanted Green Lawns, 1989. 4 min.
Sandra Lahire, Eerie, 1992. 1 min.
Annette Kennerley, Sex, Lies, Religion, 1994. 6 min.
Helena Goldwater, Fierce Detail, 1995. 4 min. 

Kuratiert wird das Programm von Charlotte Procter (LUX, London) und Daniella Shreir (Another Gaze).

Charlotte Procter (geb. 1984, Vereinigtes Königreich; lebt in London) ist Leiterin der Sammlung und des Archivs von LUX, der bedeutendsten Sammlung bewegter Bilder von Künstler*innen im Vereinigten Königreich. Im Jahr 2013 trat sie der Cinenova Working Group bei, einem Kollektiv, das sich der Pflege und Verbreitung der feministischen Filmsammlung Cinenova widmet. Von 2018 bis 2021 war sie Co-Leiterin des Forschungsprojekts Their Past is Always Present bei Elas Querejeta Zine Eskola (San Sebastián, Spanien) und ist Mitherausgeberin von Living on air: the films and words of Sandra Lahire (2021).

Daniella Shreir (geb. 1993, Vereinigtes Königreich; lebt in London) ist die Gründerin und Redakteurin von Another Gaze, einer Print- und Online-Zeitschrift, die sich mit Filmen und Feminismus beschäftigt. Sie ist außerdem Gründerin und Programmiererin von Another Screen, einer unregelmäßigen, kostenlosen und weltweit verfügbaren Streaming-Plattform mit Untertiteln in mehreren Sprachen. Sie arbeitet als Übersetzerin von Literatur und Sachbüchern aus dem Französischen. Ihre Übersetzung von Chantal Akermans My Mother Laughs wurde 2019 mit dem PEN-Preis ausgezeichnet.

Sarah Turner, She Wanted Green Lawns (still), 1989. Courtesy of the artist and LUX, London.
Jeanette Iljon, Focii (still), 1974. Courtesy of the artist and LUX, London.
Tanya Syed, Chameleon (still), 1990. Courtesy of the artist and LUX, London.
Jo Davis & Lis Rhodes, Hang on a minute: No 8 Bus (still), 1983. Courtesy of the artist and LUX, London.
Tina Keane, Hey Mack (still), 1982. Courtesy of the artist and LUX, London.
Sandra Lahire, Eerie (still), 1992. Courtesy of the artist and LUX, London.
Annette Kennerley, Sex, Lies, Religion (still), 1994. Courtesy of the artist and Cinenova, London.

This selection of films aims to provide a partial survey of the work of Sandra Lahire’s contemporaries and collaborators, including friends, mentors, and fellow members of the London Film-makers Cooperative such as Tina Keane, Lis Rhodes, and Tanya Syed. This eclectic mix of film and video contains reflections on some of the concerns that pervade Lahire’s work, and that were prevalent at the time, including anti-nuclear activism, constraints placed on women’s bodies, and manifestations of lesbian sexuality and desire. The films will be interspersed with readings of texts and reflections by Lahire and some of the other artists included in this program.

The film program includes:

Tina Keane, Hey Mack, 1982. 13 min. 
Jo Davis & Lis Rhodes, Hang on a minute: No 8 Bus, 1983. 2 min.
Jeanette Iljon, Focii, 1974.  9 min.
Tanya Syed, Chameleon, 1990. 4 min.
Martine Thoquenne, Faster Princess, 1982. 8 min.
Sarah Turner, She Wanted Green Lawns, 1989. 4 min.
Sandra Lahire, Eerie, 1992. 1 min.
Annette Kennerley, Sex, Lies, Religion, 1994. 6 min.
Helena Goldwater, Fierce Detail, 1995. 4 min.

The program is curated by Charlotte Procter (LUX, London) and Daniella Shreir (Another Gaze). 

Charlotte Procter (b. 1984, United Kingdom; lives in London) is Collection and Archive Director of LUX, the UK’s most significant collection of artists’ moving image. In 2013 she joined the Cinenova Working Group, a collective dedicated to the care and distribution of the feminist film collection Cinenova. From 2018 to 2021, she co-directed the research project Their Past is Always Present at Elas Querejeta Zine Eskola (San Sebastián, Spain), and she is co-editor of Living on air: the films and words of Sandra Lahire (2021).

Daniella Shreir (b. 1993, United Kingdom; lives in London) is the founding editor of Another Gaze, a print and online journal exploring films and feminism. She is also the founder and programmer of Another Screen, an irregular streaming platform, free and available worldwide with subtitles in multiple languages. She works as a literary and non-fiction translator from the French, with her translation of Chantal Akerman’s My Mother Laughs receiving a PEN award in 2019.

Leporello, 22 Seiten, limitierte Auflage
11,5 x 17 cm
De Hallen Haarlem, Grazer Kunstverein, 2016
Preis: 50,– Euro

Dialoge is a discursive program organized by the newly founded Center for Contemporary Art at the University of Graz, which will take place from May 16-21 at the Grazer Kunstverein. Under the title Art – Political Responsibility – Social Justice the program examines current socio-political issues. The program focuses on political conflict zones in Europe, diversity in the context of questioning and redefining concepts of identity, as well as social justice, colonialism, and imperialism.

The fourth Dialog examines the intertwinement of acts of political self-determination with artistic practices. With contributions by Mark Nash (lecture), Yagazie Emezi (artist talk), Ryan Cosbert (artist talk), Belinda Kazeem-Kamiński (artist talk), and Florian Bieber (lecture).

For the most recent schedule, please visit the website of the Center for Contemporary Art, University of Graz.

Dialoge is a discursive program organized by the newly founded Center for Contemporary Art at the University of Graz, which will take place from May 16-21 at the Grazer Kunstverein. Under the title Art – Political Responsibility – Social Justice the program examines current socio-political issues. The program focuses on political conflict zones in Europe, diversity in the context of questioning and redefining concepts of identity, as well as social justice, colonialism, and imperialism.

Theoretical and artistic responses to stereotyping and attributions related to gender form the core of the third Dialog. With contributions by David Getsy (lecture), Alexandra Hammond (performance), Furusho von Puttkammer (performance), Masha Godovannaya (lecture), and Bárbara Wagner and Benjamin de Burca (screening).

For the most recent schedule, please visit the website of the Center for Contemporary Art, University of Graz.

Dialoge is a discursive program organized by the newly founded Center for Contemporary Art at the University of Graz, which will take place from May 16-21 at the Grazer Kunstverein. Under the title Art – Political Responsibility – Social Justice the program examines current socio-political issues. The program focuses on political conflict zones in Europe, diversity in the context of questioning and redefining concepts of identity, as well as social justice, colonialism, and imperialism.

The second Dialog, entitled Trust & Intransigence, will place a special emphasis on European conflict zones. It provides a platform for exchange between scholars and artists. With contributions by Saddam Jumaily (Artist Talk), Marita Muukkonen, Ivor Stodolsky (Conversation), Jasmina Cibic (Artist Talk), Alexandra Hammond (Performance), Ekaterina Degot (Statement), Vedran Dzihic (Lecture) and Anri Sala (Screening).

For the most recent schedule, please visit the website of the Center for Contemporary Art, University of Graz.

Dialoge is a discursive program organized by the newly founded Center for Contemporary Art at the University of Graz, which will take place from May 16-21 at the Grazer Kunstverein. Under the title Art – Political Responsibility – Social Justice the program examines current socio-political issues. The program focuses on political conflict zones in Europe, diversity in the context of questioning and redefining concepts of identity, as well as social justice, colonialism, and imperialism.

The first Dialog includes contributions by Wolfgang Meixner (book presentation), Marc Hill (book review), Steffen Schneider (statement), Renate Hansen-Kokoruš (lecture), and Djordje Čenić (artist talk and screening).

For the most recent schedule, please visit the website of the Center for Contemporary Art, University of Graz.

She gave it to me I got it from her is both a book and a choreography performed for five spectators at the time. By way of the voice and an intricate composition of gestures, Clara Amaral guides the spectator through the different chapters of the book. Developed and written by the artist herself, the publication focuses on the matrilineal passing down of reading and writing skills—from mother to daughter, generation upon generation. The narrative that unfolds traces Amaral’s family history and reveals a historical transition from illiteracy to the ability to read and write. Laying out this transformation in a poetic manner, Amaral gives insight into the power relations articulated by the presence and absence of the capacity to read and write and how this plays into the formation of identity, be it personal or collective. As such, the performative reading articulates the book anew as both a script, a performance, and an archive.

Language: English
Duration: 60 minutes
Price: 5 Euro (free for members)

Due to very limited capacity, it is required to reserve a seat by writing to office@grazerkunstverein.org

Clara Amaral (b. 1984, Portugal; lives in Amsterdam) is an artist working with text and performance. Her interdisciplinary artistic practice questions what it means to be a reader, to be a writer, aiming to expand existing modes of reading, writing, and publishing. Central to her practice is the investigation of publishing modalities and the performative aspect of writing and language, through an intersectional feminist approach. Her works have been presented in The Netherlands, Portugal, Belgium, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. Amaral is the initiator of the online publishing platform misted.cc. 

Writer, choreographer and performer Clara Amaral; Graphic design Ronja Andersen and Karoline Swiezynski; Copy editor Isabelle Sully; Conceptualization and fabrication of objects Olga Micińska in dialogue with Clara Amaral; Publisher Kunstverein Publishing 

She gave it to me I got it from her was supported by Mondriaan Fonds, Amsterdam; Veem House for Performance, Amsterdam; Members of Kunstverein, Amsterdam; Alkantara, Lisbon; Teatro do Bairro Alto, Lisbon 

The presentation of She gave it to me I got it from her at Grazer Kunstverein is made possible with the support of Mondriaan Fonds, Amsterdam.

Clara Amaral, She gave it to me I got it from her, 2021. Photo: The Book Photographer.

Margarita Maximova presents a reading of her first book You have within you something stronger and more numinous (2021). Throughout her practice, Maximova considers the many ways in which our contemporary image-making technologies and their indivisible link to communication, sociability, and memory-making operate. You have within you something stronger and more numinous is a continuation of that process with a focus on the written word. The book discloses a collection of excerpts from letters sent to her by her mother over the previous decade. The selection of translated texts describes her mother’s venturesome relocation from Russia to Belgium, her childhood in the Russian dachas, close observations of the landscape, and her pursuit to retrieve the connection with her ancestors. Set amongst the political landscape and cultural fabric of the Soviet Union, the telling of her experience reveals the nuances of intimacy, displacement, motherhood, and the psychic traumas that are so often inherited from previous family generations.

Language: English
Duration: 75 minutes

Due to limited capacity, it is required to reserve a seat by writing to office@grazerkunstverein.org

Margarita Maximova (b. 1990, Russia; lives in Brussels and Berlin) is an artist with an audio-visual-based practice. Her work has recently been exhibited at Damien & The Love Guru, Brussels (2021), Garage Museum of Contemporary Art, Moscow (2021), Science Gallery, Venice (2021), Courtisane Festival, Ghent (2021), S.M.A.K, Ghent (2020), and Beursschouwburg, Brussels (2018).

The presentation of You have within you something stronger and more numinous at Grazer Kunstverein is made possible with the support of Flanders State of the Art.

Margarita Maximova, You Have Within You Something Stronger and More Numinous, 2021.

In Submission Submission (unplugged), Bryana Fritz takes on the role of an ‘amateur hagiographer’. The amateur being both a beginner and a lover; the hagiographer, as in the medieval literary genre of hagiography, the writing of saints’ lives. In a series of performative portraits, Fritz embodies the corporal, rhetorical, and performative strategies that medieval women saints used to subvert their restricted lives, deaths, and passions. Submitting her physical and digital body to holy echoes from the past, she dissects and harnesses the tools that give body. Submission Submission is a growing codex of performative portraits of medieval women saints. For each iteration of the performance, different saints are chosen to share the space. At Grazer Kunstverein, Fritz will perform her portraits of Christina of Bolsena, Hildegard of Bingen, Cathrine of Siena, and Joan of Arc.

Language: English
Duration: 30 minutes

Bryana Fritz (b. 1989, USA; lives in Brussels and Paris) is a choreographer, dancer, and writer. She works at the intersection between poetry and performance often in duet with the user interface of OS X. Her work is fed by a continued interest in medieval literature, fanfiction, media studies, and histories of illiteracy. She also collaborates with Henry Andersen under the moniker Slow Reading Club. As a performer, Fritz worked with Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker, Xavier le Roy, Boris Charmatz, Michiel Vandevelde and Femke Gyselinck. 


The presentation of Submission Submission (unplugged) at Grazer Kunstverein is made possible with the support of Flanders State of the Art.

Bryana Fritz, Submission Submission, 2020. Photo: Michiel Devijver.

This publication appeared in conjunction with the exhibition we sat rigid except for the parts of our bodies that were needed for production by Sandra Lahire and Celeste Burlina. It is the first in a series of small volumes of correspondence, responses, and conversations, which accompanies the exhibition program of Grazer Kunstverein.

Editor: Tom Engels
Contributions: Celeste Burlina, Tom Engels, Laura Guy, Calla Henkel, Sandra Lahire, Julie Peeters, Charlotte Procter, Kerstin Schroedinger, Miriam Stoney
Graphic Design: Julie Peeters
Editorial Assistance: Verena Borecky
Copyediting: Tom Engels, Verena Borecky
Printing and binding: Benedict Press, Münsterschwarzach
Edition: 350
Typeface: Kleisch GK by Chiachi Chao
63 pages, b&w, English
Softcover
ISBN: 978-3-9505230-0-3
Price: 7,– Euro, 4,– Euro for members

Leporello, 22 pages, limited edition
11.5 x 17 cm
De Hallen Haarlem, Grazer Kunstverein, 2016
Price: 50,– Euro

Edited with an introduction by Joseph Grigely
Design: Marc Hollenstein
224 pages, 27 b/w, 38 color illustr., 24 x 17 cm, English
Grazer Kunstverein, Kunstverein in Hamburg, Printed Matter, Koenig Books, 2016
ISBN 978-3-86335-933-1
Price: 25,– Euro